SCC Foundation Announces New Board Officers

Monday, July 10th, 2017

The Spartanburg Community College Foundation recently elected new members and executive committee officers to the board of directors. Established in 1983, the SCC Foundation exists to seek private and public resources to support the needs of students, faculty and staff of Spartanburg Community College.

"The SCC Foundation could not operate without the dedicated service of the 21 community leaders who selfishly give of their time and talents to further our mission of assisting the college," explains Bea Walters Smith, SCC's executive director of Advancement and the Foundation. "These men and women are talented individuals who bring years of professional expertise to the college with the goal of helping our students, faculty and staff, and ensuring that our Foundation seeks private and public resources to fulfill our mission and vision."

The following individuals were elected to serve on the executive committee for a one-year term (July 2017-June 2018):

Chair - Grant Burns, AFL International

Vice Chair - Linda Hannon, Duke Energy

Secretary - Clarence Batts, Community Volunteer

Treasurer - Kathy Sinclair, Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System

Newly elected individuals to the board, who will serve a three-year term (July 2017-June 2020), include the following:

John McGinnis, Roebuck Wholesale Nursery, Roebuck

Rev. J. W. Sanders, Jr., Bethel Baptist Church, Gaffney

Martha "Sissy" Brock, Community Volunteer, Gaffney

Charlotte "Cha" Gee, Community Volunteer, Spartanburg

Joe Hines, Santuc Precision, Union

John Robbins, The Timken Co., Union

Warren Snead, Cooper Standard, Spartanburg

Returning board members include the following:

Dr. Charles Fogarty, Spartanburg Medical Research, Spartanburg

Shirley M. Howell, Community Volunteer, Woodruff

Wallace E. Johnson, Community Volunteer, Spartanburg

Daniel Lawrence, Kohler Co., Spartanburg

Paul Lehner, Leigh Fibers, Inc, Wellford

William Mayrose, Community Volunteer, Spartanburg

Dr. Peter Moore, Community Volunteer, Spartanburg

Ronald Murray, Community Volunteer, Spartanburg

Sara Robinson, McMillan Pazdan Smith Architecture, Spartanburg

Dr. Diane Vecchio, Furman University, Greenville

Smith adds, "We owe a heartfelt thank you to members who are rotating off the Foundation board this year. They have provided invaluable leadership and service and for that we are grateful." Retiring members include the following:

Kitta Cates, Heathy Smiles, Spartanburg

James Moss, Moss Insurance, Blacksburg

Ricky McAbee, Roebuck Wholesale Nursery, Roebuck

Russ Mathis, Sealed Air Corporation, Greenville

Charlita Atchison, Atchison Transportation, Spartanburg