Spartanburg Community College Honors 2018 State Service Award Recipients and Retirees

Staff Report From Spartanburg CEO

Tuesday, May 15th, 2018

Spartanburg Community College recently honored employees and retirees for their years of service to South Carolina and the College, as well as individuals who have been selected for special honors by their peers and students.
"Each year we recognize outstanding individuals who uphold the College's mission and values in all that they do in and out of the classroom," said Henry C. Giles, Jr., SCC president. "These men and women represent years of expertise in their chosen professions; and they are some of our most valuable resources because of the important role they play in educating our students. They have devoted countless hours and years to the service and education of our students and for that we are grateful."
Employees honored for their years of services to the Palmetto State and SCC include the following:

10 Year Awards

Jane Bird
Patrick Cradit
Craig Denesha
Neil Griffin
Dena Hall
Linda Klinzing
John Mathis
Smita Mehta
Rhonda Merritt
Dr. Jung Oh
Kevin Parris
Roy Smith
Gladden Smoke
Terese Ricard
Henry Villanueva
Ivory Wilson

20 Year Awards

Jon Backman
David Barber
Lynn Camp
Melissa Collins
Jan Kehm
Joel Livesay

30 Year Awards

Jeff Hunt
Kathy Locke
Glenn Miller


Jayne Case
Bill Chidester
Jerry Fortner
Mike Hawkins
Barbara Lustig-Tillie
Savtri Parham
Patsy Pinker
Steve Quinn
JoElla Salters
Judy Sieg
June West

SCC 2018 Recognition Awards

Each year SCC students, faculty and staff persons select four colleagues who provide outstanding service based on their quality of instruction, student instructor relationships, and professional college and community support. The 2018 winners include the following:

Faculty of the Year-Student Award

Gibby Cates, Instructor, Nursing

Faculty of the Year-Peer Award

Sarah Kitts, Academic Director, Teacher Education

Adjunct Faculty of the Year Award

Anthony Mims, Instructor, Transitional Studies

Staff of the Year Award

Carol Crowe, Administrative Specialist, Health & Human Services

South Carolina Technical Education Association (SCTEA) Awards

The South Carolina Technical Education Association is a professional association of technical education personnel and others interested in postsecondary technical education. The purpose of SCTEA is to further the mission of the South Carolina Technical College System and the welfare of its members. Each year, SCC's faculty and staff submit nominations for colleagues who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence and dedication to the College and these individuals are recognized at the state-wide SCTEA professional development conference. Three SCC exemplary faculty and staff members were named 2018 SCTEA award winners and include the following:

Administrator of the Year

Kem Harvey, Dean, Arts & Sciences

Staff of the Year

Carol Manuel, Administrative Specialist, Arts & Sciences

Faculty of the Year

David Fillion, Instructor, Mechatronics, Manufacturing Technologies

SCTEA A. Wade Martin Innovator of the Year Award

Each year during the SCTEA conference, the A. Wade Martin Innovator of the Year Award is presented to an outstanding Technical College System employee or team for his/her contribution(s) to the SC Technical College System. Recipients of this award embody innovative approaches that meet the ever changing needs of the technical education arena and whose achievements impact most positively in our statewide efforts in economic development and the education of our students. The award is named for A. Wade Martin, who was the first executive director of the technical education system in SC and was recognized as one of the best industrial developers and occupational educators in the country. SCC's 2018 nominees include the following:

Individual Nominee

Linda Schmidt, Department Chair, Math

Team Nominees

SCC Horticulture Department
Jason Bagwell, Department Chair, Horticulture
Jay Moore, Instructor, Horticulture
Kevin Parris, Arboretum Director, Horticulture